The mighty 24

04:11:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

The 24 players will attack in snooker style next year
On Sunday night the PTC series of events packed their stuff and headed home after six months of intensive snooker. The road was long and without any doubt very hard, as to play three or even four matches in one day is not a job for the weak, but in the end the ones who played tough enough found themselves in the position of qualifying for the PTC Grand Final due to take place in March 2011, in the beautiful Ireland.

After six PTCs and another six EPTCs we draw the line only to see that we have 12 different winners, though the odds were pretty good for one player to win more then one trophy. But those times, when a snooker player won everything there was to win, seem to be long gone, so we’ve just have to due with a bit of diversity. In the end, in the Main tour there are many talented players then ever, the competition is tough so maybe the fact that we have a different winner for each event isn’t such a big surprise.

As you know, the biggest rule for qualifying in the final was to take part in at least three PTC and three EPTC events, so there’s no wonder Ronnie O`Sullivan missed his chance to play some wonderful snooker in Ireland next year; and the second rule was to be in the top 24 by the end of the last tournament, in our case the EPTC 6 event.

So, to review our champions, here’s the list:

PTC 1 champion - Mark Williams                      EPTC 1 champion - Judd Trump
PTC 2 champion - Mark Selby                             EPTC 2 champion - Shaun Murphy
PTC 3 champion - Tom Ford                                EPTC 3 champion - Marcus Campbell
PTC 4 champion - Barry Pinches                      EPTC 4 champion  - Stephen Lee
PTC 5 champion - Ding Junhui                          EPTC 5 champion - John Higgins
PTC 6 champion - Dominic Dale                       EPTC 6 champion - Michael Holt

And the ones (The Order of Merit) who will be travelling to Ireland in spring to show the world what playing real snooker is all about are :

1. Shaun Murphy
2. Mark Selby
3. Barry Pinches
4. Marcus Campbell
5. Judd Trump
6. Mark Williams
7. Dominic Dale
8. Stephen Lee
9. Tom Ford
10. Stephen Maguire
11. Michael Holt
12. Liang Wenbo
13. Martin Gould
14. Marco Fu
15. Ricky Walden
16. Anthony Hamilton
17. Stuart Bingham
18. Jack Lisowski
19. Jamie Jones
20. Andrew Higginson
21. Mark Davis
22. Matthew Stevens
23. Gerard Greene
24. Joe Jogia

Here you can check the full "Order of Merit" .