German Masters (the qualifying rounds) - Day 3

05:52:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

Alan McManus ends Joyce`s run
Round two was completed yesterday as 16 more players found their way though the third and last round, due to take place today, in Sheffield. The awful weather was against snooker apparently, as Ian McCulloch was unable to make in on time and play against Tony Drago. It seems like the poor guy was stranded in this horrible weather and was forced to drive back home. Unfortunately that meant that he lost the opportunity to qualify further in the competition but also that Tony Drago got a bye to the last round.

The Thai Thanawat Thirapongpaiboon continued his series of winning by hammering 5-1 Alfie Burden in a match that he clearly dominated, Jimmy Robertson brew away poor Jimmy White by the same scoreline and Dominic Dale defeated China’s Xiao Guodong 5-3.

A very good day for the legend Steve Davis, as he secured himself a place into the last round after wining 5-2 over Matt Couch but also for Liu Song who defeated Jamie Burnett in a very tight battle ended on a 5-4 scoreline.
After a beautiful performance, Mark Joyce was sent home by Alan McManus with a determined 5-3 final result, while Dave Harold was continuing his wonderful run and wining 5-2 over Adrian Gunnell.

Here are the complete results for yesterday’s matches:

Anthony Hamilton 5 - 1 Adam Wicheard
Thanawat Thirapongpaiboon 5 - 1 Alfie Burden
Mike Dunn 3 - 5 Jack Lisowski
Jamie Burnett 4 - 5 Liu Song
Kyren Wilson 2 - 5 Nigel Bond
Jimmy White 1 - 5 Jimmy Robertson
Tony Drago w/d Ian McCulloch
Simon Bedford 5 - 2 Andy Hicks
Jamie O'Neill 1 - 5 Anthony McGill
Xiao Guodong 3 - 5 Dominic Dale
Mark Joyce 3 - 5 Alan McManus
Matthew Selt 5 - 3 David Gilbert
Matt Couch 2 - 5 Steve Davis
Joe Delaney 2 - 5 Joe Swail
Dave Harold 5 - 2 Adrian Gunnell
Robert Milkins 5 - 3 Jamie Jones

And here we are - the last day, the last matches. One more fearless battle for a new ranking event due to kick off at the beginning of 2011 :-) Good luck to all the players and bring on the top class snooker! :-)

From 10.00 am (UK time)
Stuart Bingham v. Anthony Hamilton
Barry Hawkins v. Thanawat Thirapongpaiboon
Marcus Campbell v. Jack Lisowski
Ken Doherty v. Liu Song
Liang Wenbo v. Nigel Bond
Judd Trump v. Jimmy Robertson

From 2.30 pm (UK time)
Andrew Higginson v. Tony Drago
Matthew Stevens v. Simon Bedford
Tom Ford v. Anthony McGill
Gerard Greene v. Dominic Dale
Joe Perry v. Alan McManus

From 7.00 pm (UK time)
Stephen Lee v. Matthew Selt
Ryan Day v. Steve Davis
Martin Gould v. Joe Swail
Marco Fu v. Dave Harold
Mark Davis v. Robert Milkins