World Cup 2011 - line up revealed

01:32:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

We are the world ... we are the children...
As you all might have heard, the Snooker World Cup will be staged in Bangkok, Thailand this year. It’s been a long time since this tournament saw the sunlight, to be more precise the last edition was held in 2001 (the correct name baing Nations Cup), back then Scotland (Higgins, McManus and Hendry) defeating the Republic of Ireland (Doherty, O’Brien and Judge) 6-2.

But the time has come to bring back to life this amazing competition, so during 11-17 of July, Thailand will welcome snooker played in pairs. World Snooker has already announced the line up, 20 teams being responsible of delighting the audience, teams that will be divided into four groups of five. The top two players of each group will advance to the quarter-finals; with each match including singles and doubles frames.

Does this sound a bit complicated to you? Well maybe, but I assure you that it’s going to be great fun to watch the boys play snooker in such way.
So, let’s cut the long talk and see the line up:

Top eight seeds:
1. Wales: Mark Williams and Matthew Stevens
2. Scotland: John Higgins and Stephen Maguire
3. England: Mark Selby and Ali Carter
4. China: Ding Junhui and Liang Wenbo
5. Australia: Neil Robertson and Steve Mifsud
6. Northern Ireland: Mark Allen and Gerard Greene
7. Hong Kong: Marco Fu and Fung Kwok Wai
8. Republic of Ireland: Ken Doherty and Fergal O'Brien

Host teams
9. Thailand A: James Wattana and Dechawat Poomjaeng
10. Thailand B: Passakorn Sunwannawat and Thepchaiya Un-nooh

Wild cards
11. Germany: Patrick Einsle and Lasse M√ľnstermann
12. Brazil: Itaro Santos and one other (to be selected as soon as possible)

13. Belgium: Bjorn Haneveer and Luca Brecel
14. Pakistan: Sahid Aftab and Muhammad Sajjad
15. India: Aditya Metha and Pankaj Advani
16. Afghanistan: Mohammad Rais Senzahi and Saleh Mohammad Mohammadi
17. UAE: Mohmmed Mustafa Shehab and Mohammed Al Joaker
18. Poland: Kacper Filipiak and Krzysztof Wrobel
19. Malta: Tony Drago and Alex Borg
20. Egypt: Wael Talat and Yasser El-Sherbini

Update (13.06.2011): the draw for the World Cup has also been revealed!

Group A

Group B
Thailand 1

Group C
Northern Ireland

Group D
Thailand 2
Hong Kong