Players Tour Championship Event Four 2011 - Day 2

02:01:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

Jimmy Robertson is back!
Surprising and long, the second day of the 2011 Paul Hunter Classic did its job in sending eight players into the Last 16. Now the line-up is set, so tomorrow we shall start our tour de force in finding PTC 4 champion.

The day's premiere was the fact that four players managed to qualify for the Last 16 for the first time this season. Their names are: Michael White, Mark Joyce, Jimmy Robertson and Passakorn Suwannawat.

The Welshman White, although has got a bye because Liang Wenbo withdrew from the tournament, stormed in to defeat Shaun Murphy by 4-3 and hammered a very determined Martin Gould 4-1, while the 2011 Pink Tournament champion Mark Joyce started his day with a 4-2 in front of Lee Page, continued it with the same 4-2 over Tian Pengfei and ended it, late in the night, with a 4-3 against Mark King.

But maybe one of this day's biggest revelations has been Jimmy Robertson. The Englishman that succeeded to qualify for this year's World Championship didn't have such a great start this season, but with today's performance that's history. Robertson beat Nick Jennings 4-1, Robbie Williams 4-2 and ended in great style with another 4-2 against Andrew Pagett and a great series of 129, 56, 66 and 102. Now that's how it's done!

Jamie Jones beats PTC 3 champ
And since we are on the "Robertson-subject", there wasn’t really too much of a surprise to see Neil Robertson earn himself a spot in the next round by defeating Chris Norbury 4-0, David Hogan 4-2 and Peter Lines 4-1, while Jamie Jones managed to qualify for the third time into the Last 16, after obtaining victories like: 4-2 with Cao Yupeng, 4-3 with Jack Lisowski and a marvellous 4-1 against the PTC 3 champion, Ben Woollaston.

The big Thai Passakorn Suwannavat has also managed to book himself a place for the next day of playing after winning 4-1 over Gerard Greene and Mark Williams and 4-2 over Ken Doherty.

Now, changing the subject a bit, although from the beginning of the PTC's the "Welsh Potting Machine" didn't seem to pot like a machine ... at all! is still strange to see him not reaching the Last 16. And what's even worse, his performance follows a strange pattern: PTC 1 (lost his first match), PTC 2 (lost his second match), PTC 3 (lost his first match) and now, during PTC 4 .... guess what? Yeah, he lost his second match. I really hope he'll try to improve his winning status during the following events, because it is really a shame not to see him play until the last day of a competition.

Suwannawat, responsabile for Doherty's exit
Yu Delu, on the other hand, had an extraordinary day, the Chinese player taking care of each of his opponents. And so he beat Tom Ford 4-2, hit in breaks of 100 and 112 for a 4-1 against James Welsh and end his day with a glorious 4-2 against Steve Davis.

Maybe Ken Doherty didn't succeed to qualify for the Last 16 round this time, but Ireland is proudly represented by Fergal O'Brien who won by a close 4-3 in front of Joe Delaney, put Rod Lawler in his corner with a 4-1 and ended with a terrific 4-3 against Ding Junhui.

Below you can check Day 2 list of results:

9 Mark Joyce 4-2 Lee Page
10 Barry Pinches 0-4 Tian Pengfei
49 Steve Davis 4-0 Gary Wilson
50 Dave Harold 0-4 Jamie O'Neill
51 Graeme Dott w/o James Welsh
52 Tom Ford 2-4 Yu Delu
53 Andrew Pagett 4-2 Luca Brecel
54 Robert Milkins 4-1 Martin O'Donnell
55 Jimmy Robertson 4-1 Nick Jennings
56 Matthew Couch 0-4 Robbie Williams

11 Mark King 4-2 Kishan Hirani
12 Matthew Stevens 4-1 Paul Davison
13 Neil Robertson 4-0 Chris Norbury
14 Tony Drago w/o David Hogan
15 Peter Lines 4-3 David Gilbert
16 Ali Carter w/o Andrew Norman

25 Shaun Murphy w/o Lucky Vatnani
26 Liang Wenbo w/o Michael White
27 Martin Gould 4-1 Ben Harrison
28 Nigel Bond 2-4 Dechewat Poomjaeng

29 Rod Lawler 4-1 Mitchell Travis
30 Fergal O'Brien 4-3 Joe Delaney
31 Ding Junhui 4-1 Sean O'Sullivan
32 Marcus Campbell 4-2 Scott MacKenzie

1 Mark Williams 4-0 Sanderson Lam
2 Gerard Greene 1-4 Passakorn Suwannawat
3 Ken Doherty 4-0 Liam Monk
4 Liu Song 4-1 Chen Zhe

5 Mike Dunn 4-1 Kacper Filipiak
6 Liam Highfield w/o Ben Woollaston
7 Jamie Jones 4-2 Cao Yupeng
8 Jack Lisowski 4-1 Steve Judd

69 Mark Joyce 4-2 Tian Pengfei
70 Mark King 4-1 Matthew Stevens
71 Neil Robertson 4-2 David Hogan
72 Peter Lines 4-2 Andrew Norman
77 Shaun Murphy 3-4 Michael White
78 Martin Gould 4-1 Dechewat Poomjaeng
89 Steve Davis 4-3 Jamie O'Neill
90 James Welsh 1-4 Yu Delu
91 Andrew Pagett 4-2 Robert Milkins
92 Jimmy Robertson 4-2 Robbie Williams

65 Mark Williams 1-4 Passakorn Suwannawat
66 Ken Doherty 4-2 Liu Song
67 Mike Dunn 2-4 Ben Woollaston
68 Jamie Jones 4-3 Jack Lisowski
79 Rod Lawler 1-4 Fergal O'Brien
80 Ding Junhui 4-1 Marcus Campbell

97 Passakorn Suwannawat 4-2 Ken Doherty
98 Ben Woollaston 1-4 Jamie Jones
99 Neil Robertson 4-1 Peter Lines
100 Michael White 4-1 Martin Gould
103 Mark Joyce 4-3 Mark King
104 Fergal O'Brien 4-3 Ding Junhui
109 Steve Davis 2-4 Yu Delu
110 Andrew Pagett 2-4 Jimmy Robertson

Tomorrow's schedule:

10:00 (the Last 16)
113 Mark Davis 4-2 Matthew Selt
114 Mark Selby 4-0 Andrew Higginson
115 Joe Jogia 1-4 Stephen Lee
116 Ronnie O'Sullivan 4-2 Li Yan
117 Passakorn Suwannawat 4-2 Jamie Jones
118 Neil Robertson 4-2 Mark Joyce
119 Michael White 2-4 Fergal O'Brien
120 Yu Delu 4-2 Jimmy Robertson

13:00 (the quarter-finals)
121 Mark Selby 4-1 Stephen Lee
122 Yu Delu 3-4 Ronnie O'Sullivan
123 Mark Davis 4-0 Fergal O'Brien
124 Passakorn Suwannawat 1-4 Neil Robertson

16:00 (the semi-finals)
125 Mark Selby 4-3 Ronnie O'Sullivan
126 Mark Davis 4-2 Neil Robertson

20:00 (the final)
127 Mark Selby 4-0 Mark Davis
*all hours are Germany time

TV coverage:
13:15 - 15:00 British EuroSport
18:00 - 19:00 British EuroSport
19:00 - 21:30 British EuroSport