Players Tour Championship Event Three 2011 - Day 1

14:50:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

McManus has a terrific first day
A new tradition has caught roots recently, during the PTC's, and that is staying up late to follow the boys, or better to say to keep an eye on the live scorelines board. :-)) As you can imagine, the first day of the main event we proudly call Players Tour Championship Three was a long one, the last match ending somewhere around 00:40 (UK time).
All things aside, the day was a genuine battle of cues and I'm glad to see names like Alan McManus, Joe Jogia, Ben Woollaston or Stephen Lee back in business. It was about time! ;-)

Scotland has no more than three mighty ambassadors in the Last 16, after Stephen Maguire, Alan McManus and Anthony McGill won all day long to qualify for the next round.
Maguire started his run with a 4-1 over Allan Taylor, continued with a great 4-0 over Paul Davison, only to end it, by going back to base, with a 4-1 against David Grace. And by the way, this year's Q School Event One's graduate, Grace had terrific run (the best of all PTC's so far) by defeating Liu Chuang and Kyren Wilson 4-2 and hitting a beautiful 139. It's true that he didn't win his last match, but this is his best performance since the beginning of the season and hopefully we shall see more of him.

Ants McGill qualifies for the Last 16
Alan McManus was definitely on fire, the Scotsman crashing both of his first opponents by 4-0, Matthew Couch and ... are you ready? Stuart Bingham! What a great victory for Alan, more since Stuart has been flying for the past months. Great achievement! He secured his Last 16 place by beating Marco Fu 4-2

As for Anthony McGill, the boy seemed to be hitting the ball better and better. He almost managed to qualify for the Last 16 during the PTC 2, but sadly lost his last match. However, these time things have been different, for he kept on winning one cue battle after another. With a 4-0 over Andrew Pagett, a tight 4-3 with Tian Pengfei and a 4-2 over Matthew Stevens, the victory has his.

It was a nice surprise to see Ben Woollaston back in business, the Englishman beating Rod Lawler 4-1, Kurt Maflin 4-3 and Andrew Higginson 4-2, but also Joe Jogia, who had an exceptional first day in Sheffield, defeating his opponents one by one: Li Yan 4-3, Michael White 4-0 and Neil Robertson 4-2.

The Darling of Dublin in action
"The Darling of Dublin"- Kenny Doherty has also registered very good results, the Irishman hammering Martin O'Donnell and Jamie O'Neill 4-1, only to end on a 4-2 with Jamie Cope at the end of the day, while Stephen "The Bulldog" Lee "bit" all those who dared to be in his way: 4-3 with Ben Harrison, 4-1 with Ding Junhui and 4-2 with Mark Allen. Impressive stuff from the Pockets Snooker man.
Michael Holt was also in the mood for winning, the lad beating Gareth Green and Steve Davis 4-1, while against the Thai Passakorn Suwannawat, he applied a 4-2 final scoreline.

Here is Day 1 list of results:

1 Mark Williams 0-4 Michael Judge
2 Andrew Higginson 4-0 Nick Jennings
3 Rod Lawler 1-4 Ben Woollaston
4 Gerard Greene 2-4 Kurt Maflin
5 Jack Lisowski w/o Bjorn Haneveer
6 Jamie Cope 4-3 Robbie Williams
7 Ken Doherty 4-1 Martin O'Donnell
8 Barry Pinches 2-4 Jamie O'Neill

Not before 11am
9 Marco Fu 4-2 James Wattana
10 Anthony Hamilton w/o Lucky Vatnani
11 Alan McManus 4-0 Matthew Couch
12 Stuart Bingham 4-0 Kacper Filipiak
13 Allister Carter 4-2 Stephen Craigie
14 Neil Robertson 4-1 Scott Mackenzie
15 Peter Lines 3-4 Michael White
16 Joe Jogia 4-3 Li Yan

Not before 1pm
17 Joe Swail 0-4 Passakorn Suwannawat
18 Ricky Walden 4-2 Zhang Anda
19 Steve Davis 4-1 Daniel Wells
20 Michael Holt 4-1 Gareth Green
21 Rory Mcleod 2-4 Adam Duffy
22 Matthew Stevens 4-3 Sam Baird
23 Anthony McGill 4-0 Andrew Pagett
24 Mark King 3-4 Tian Pengfei

Not before 3pm
25 Robert Milkins 0-4 Paul Davison
26 Stephen Maguire 4-1 Allan Taylor
27 Liu Chuang 2-4 David Grace
28 Shaun Murphy 1-4 Kyren Wilson
29 Mark Allen 4-2 Ian Burns
30 Dominic Dale 4-2 Saqib Nasir
31 Ding Junhui 4-0 Joel Walker
32 Stephen Lee 4-3 Ben Harrison

Not before 5pm
65 Andrew Higginson 4-3 Michael Judge
66 Ben Woollaston 4-3 Kurt Maflin
67 Jamie Cope 4-3 Jack Lisowski
68 Ken Doherty 4-1 Jamie O'Neill
69 Marco Fu 4-1 Anthony Hamilton
70 Alan McManus 4-0 Stuart Bingham
71 Neil Robertson 4-3 Ali Carter
72 Joe Jogia 4-0 Michael White

Not before 7pm
73 Passakorn Suwannawat 4-0 Ricky Walden
74 Michael Holt 4-1 Steve Davis
75 Matthew Stevens 4-2 Adam Duffy
76 Anthony McGill 4-3 Tian Pengfei
77 Stephen Maguire 4-0 Paul Davison
78 David Grace 4-2 Kyren Wilson
79 Mark Allen 4-2 Dominic Dale
80 Stephen Lee 4-1 Ding Junhui

Not before 9pm
97 Andrew Higginson 2-4 Ben Woollaston
98 Jamie Cope 2-4 Ken Doherty
99 Marco Fu 2-4 Alan McManus
100 Neil Robertson 2-4 Joe Jogia
101 Passakorn Suwannawat 2-4 Michael Holt
102 Matthew Stevens 2-4 Anthony McGill
103 Stephen Maguire 4-1 David Grace
104 Mark Allen 2-4 Stephen Lee

Today's list of matches looks like this:

33 Mark Selby v. Luca Brecel
34 Ryan Day w/o Robin Hull
35 Peter Ebdon v. Gary Wilson
36 Nigel Bond v. Marc Davis
37 Tom Ford v. Sam Craigie
38 Marcus Campbell v. David Hogan
39 Mark Joyce v. David Morris
40 Jamie Burnett v. Adam Wicheard

Not before 11am
41 Tony Drago v. Michael Wasley
42 Martin Gould v. Dechawat Poomjaeng
43 Fergal O'Brien v. Craig Steadman
44 Barry Hawkins v. Aditya Mehta
45 Judd Trump v. Sam Harvey
46 Adrian Gunnell v. Sharam Changezi
47 Xiao Guodong v. Neal Jones
48 Dave Harold v. Stephen Ellis

Not before 1pm
49 Matthew Selt v. Cao Yupeng
50 Alfie Burden v. David Birley
51 Liang Wenbo v. James Hill
52 Mark Davis v. Stuart Carrington
53 Jimmy Robertson v. Lee Page
54 Jamie Jones v. Yu Delu
55 Andy Hicks v. Douglas Hogan
58 Ronnie O'sullivan v. David Gilbert

Not before 3pm
56 Ian Mcculloch v. Joe Meara
57 Graeme Dott v. James Welsh
59 Liu Song v. Andrew Norman
60 Stephen Hendry v. Liam Highfield
61 Jimmy White v. Simon Bedford
62 Mike Dunn v. Kishan Hirani
63 Joe Perry v. James McGouran
64 John Higgins v. Mitchell Mann

Not before 5pm
81 Winner Of Match 33 v. Winner Of Match 34
82 Winner Of Match 35 v. Winner Of Match 36
83 Winner Of Match 37 v. Winner Of Match 38
84 Winner Of Match 39 v. Winner Of Match 40
85 Winner Of Match 41 v. Winner Of Match 42
86 Winner Of Match 43 v. Winner Of Match 44
87 Winner Of Match 45 v. Winner Of Match 46
88 Winner Of Match 47 v. Winner Of Match 48

Not before 7pm
89 Winner Of Match 49 v. Winner Of Match 50
90 Winner Of Match 51 v. Winner Of Match 52
91 Winner Of Match 53 v. Winner Of Match 54
92 Winner Of Match 55 v. Winner Of Match 56
93 Winner Of Match 57 v. Winner Of Match 58
94 Winner Of Match 59 v. Winner Of Match 60
95 Winner Of Match 61 v. Winner Of Match 62
96 Winner Of Match 63 v. Winner Of Match 64

Not before 9pm
105 Winner Of Match 81 v. Winner Of Match 82
106 Winner Of Match 83 v. Winner Of Match 84
107 Winner Of Match 85 v. Winner Of Match 86
108 Winner Of Match 87 v. Winner Of Match 88
109 Winner Of Match 89 v. Winner Of Match 90
110 Winner Of Match 91 v. Winner Of Match 92
111 Winner Of Match 93 v. Winner Of Match 94
112 Winner Of Match 95 v. Winner Of Match 96
*all hours are UK time

Don't forget to keep an eye on for each session, two matches will be broadcasted LIVE.