Players Tour Championship Event 5 (2011) - Day 1 (the qualifiers)

13:52:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

Yesterday was a busy day in Sheffield as the PTC Event 5 kicked off. As usual, the first two days are being dedicated to the qualifying rounds, but that doesn't make them any less special or tougher as each player dreams to take on a heavy name from Friday on, when the main event will start.

Ben Harrison and Allan Taylor can be easily named as "the perfect subscribers to success" as the lads have always managed to win their qualifying matches. And yesterday wasn’t going to be any different, as Harrison whitewashed Stephen John Barton 4-0, while Taylor hammered Brian Morgan 4-1.

Following what seems to be an unwritten, but sure-to-happen pattern, the Chinese players have ended their first day of qualifying matches covered in glory, Chen Zhe successfully defeating Alex Davis by 4-3, while Zhang Anda ended another Alex's run, this time Alex Taubman with a 4-2 scoreline.

No surprise to see Martin O'Donnell taking a perfect start after beating a very tough opponent, Matthew Day by 4-3, as well as to see Chris Norbury performing a total whitewash on Jamie Green.
The Q School Event One graduate, David Gray scored a perfect 4-2 over Michael Wild, Scotland's Eden Sharav registered the same scoreline against Alan Edmond, while Kyren Wilson has proven once again he is ready to reach the main event by crashing Ashley Carty 4-0.

Have you missed "Double T"? Who's "Double T"? Well, I'm hurt ... of course that I'm talking about the Thai with the endless name, also known as Thanawat Thirapongpaiboon. I don’t know about you, but I sure missed him and I'm pretty sure he missed winning, that's why he started his snooker journey with a 4-2 over Martin Ball.

Steady victories have also been cashed by the youngster Sam Harvey who beat Shane Castle 4-2, by Nick Jennings who defeated Danny Brindle 4-1, but also by Sydney Wilson who is responsible for Phil O'Kane's early exit, an exist that has a 4-0 result written all over it.

Below you can check Day 1 results:

From 10am 
Sam Harvey 4-2 Shane Castle 
Phil O'Kane 0-4 Sydney Wilson 
David Gray 4-2 Michael Wild 
Joel Walker 4-3 Shaun Wilkes 
Marc Harman 1-4 James Murdoch 
Bash Marqsood 3-4 Mike Hallet 
Jonathan Birch 4-1 Clark Lillyman 
Rogelio Esteiro 0-4 Antony Parsons 

Not before 12am 
Matthew Day 3-4 Martin O'Donnell 
Michael Lesley w/o Terry Challenger 
Chen Zhe 4-3 Alex Davies 
Thanawat Thirapongpaiboon 4-2 Martin Ball 
Kishan Hirani 4-3 Steve Ventham 
Duane Jones 4-1 Jan Stark 
John Whitty 4-0 Kashif Khan 
Jamie Barrett 1-4 Stephen Craigie 

Not before 2pm 
Stephen John Barton 0-4 Ben Harrison 
James Silverwood w/o Justin Astley 
Jamie Green 0-4 Chris Norbury 
Gareth Allen 2-4 Les Dodd 
Zak Surety 4-2 Dessie Sheehan 
Robert Tickner 1-4 James Hill 
Robert James 4-1 David Singh 
Jordan Winbourne 4-1 Ross Jones 

Not before 4pm 
Jamie O'Neill 4-0 Hasan Khan 
Patrick Wallace 4-1 James Cahill 
Alan Edmonds 2-4 Eden Sharav 
Saqib Nasir 2-4 Marc Davis 
Michael Wasley 4-1 Jamie Rhys Clarke 
Sachin Plaha 3-4 Nico Elton 
Michell Travis 4-3 Oliver Lines 
Hans Blanckaert 4-1 Oliver Brown 

Not before 6pm 
Kyren Wilson 4-0 Ashley Carty 
John Sutton 4-0 Brent Kolbeck 
Richard King 3-4 Tom Maxfield 
James Brown 2-4 Lee Page 
Zhang Anda 4-2 Alex Taubman 
Brian Morgan 1-4 Allan Taylor 
Lee Farebrother 4-3 David Birley 
Danny Brindle 1-4 Nick Jennings 

Not before 8pm
Douglas Hogan 4-1 Nikolas Charalambous 
Michell Mann w/o Tony Knowles 
Elliot Slessor 3-4 Najmur Khan 
Liam Monk 1-4 Ian Glover 
Omer Butt 1-4 Sean Hopkin 
George Marter 2-4 Ricky Norris

The qualifying rounds will continue today with the following matches:

From 10am
Sam Harvey v. Sydney Wilson
David Gray v. Joel Walker
James Murdoch v. Mike Hallet
Martin O'Donnell v. Michael Lesley
Chen Zhe v. Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon
Duane Jones v. John Whitty
Stephen Craigie v. Ben Harrison
Justin Astley v. Chris Norbury

Not before 12pm
Les Dodd v. Zak Surety
Robert James v. Jordan Winbourne
Jamie O'Neill v. Patrick Wallace
Eden Sharav v. Marc Davis
Michael Wasley v. Nico Elton
Hans Blanckaert v. Kyren Wilson
Lee Page v. Zhang Anda
Allan Taylor v. Lee Farebrother

Not before 2pm
Ian Burns v. Jonathan Birch
Jake Nicholson v. Antony Parsons
Ryan Causton v. Kishan Hirani
Jak Jones v. James Hill
Reanne Evans v. Michell Travis
Andrew Milliard v. John Sutton
James McGouran v. Tom Maxfield
Nick Jennings v. Douglas Hogan

Nor before 4pm
Michell Mann v. Najmur Khan
Ashley Wright v. Ian Glover
Sean O'Sullivan v. Sean Hopkin
Chris Keogan v. Ricky Norris
*all hours are UK time