Players Tour Championship Event 5 (2011) - Day 3

10:31:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

Lisowski, finally in the Last 16
Great day for cue battles and twisted situations in Sheffield as the first day of the main PTC 5 event kicked off. Eight players hungry for winning occupied the first places that the Last 16 round has put up for grabs, for some of them being quite a premiere to go so far in the competition.

Believe it or not it was the case of young Jack Lisowski, who although took part in all the PTC's didn't succeed to book a Last 16 place. But his luck was going to change as he recorded three consecutive victories over Andy Hicks 4-2, Andrew Norman 4-3 and Peter Lines 4-3. I'm guessing that his fans are giving a party as you read these lines.

The Sheriff's got his eye on the prize
Another stranger to the Last 16 round is the mighty "Sheriff of Pottingham", Anthony Hamilton who successfully defeated all his opponents to catch the fast train to PTC 5's next round. The first stop was conquered with a tight 4-3 scoreline over Stephen Hendry, the second one with a perfect 4-0 over Simon Bedford and the last one with a 4-2 over Shaun Murphy. 

Hendry, out of the TOP 16
Sadly, I must also mention that after losing that match, the Master Stephen Hendry is out of the Top 16, this happening for the first time in many, many years ... over twenty as far as I know. These will be hard times for the seven-time world champion who will see himself put in the position of qualifying for the events he wants to play in, after the seedings revision from October this year.

With a recently opened Twitter account, things are starting to look up for the English player, Ian McCulloch. Just kidding! He played beautifully yesterday and that got him a place next to the other two players I mentioned before. His journey started by beating Scotland's Marcus Campbell 4-1, continued with the same scoreline in front of Nigel Bong and ended with a 4-2 over Tom Ford. Great job you new Twiterer ... or whatever one should call a person who tweets. :-P

McCulloch's happy with his start
It was a really fructuous day for the Q School Event Three graduate, David Gilbert who not only qualify to go further in the competition, but he also hit the highest break of the event (so far), a brilliant 141. That actually marked the beginning of his day for he recorded that break during the match he played against Mike Hallett, whom he beat 4-1. Soon after that he managed to kneel down Ding Junhui 4-3 and put an end to Ian Burns' PTC dream with a 4-1.

David Gilbert
The PTC 1 finalist Joe Perry put quite a show by crashing Kishan Hirani and Peter Ebdon 4-0, only to end his day with a close 4-3 against Ricky Walden, while Scotland's "ice figure" (no, not Hendry!), Jamie Burnett hammered Martin O’Donnell 4-1, whitewashed Antony Parsons 4-0 and was made responsible for the exit or Robbie Williams, whom he beat 4-2. Can I just add that the music industry is really angry with that particular last match? :-))

Dave Harold,  or "the snooker strategist" as I like to call him, had another of his spectacular runs by beating Chris Norbury and Stephen Lee 4-3 (against Lee he came back from being lead 3-0), only to end his night covered in glory after defeating Graeme Dott 4-0. Now, that's something!
Andrew Higginson has also booked himself a place into the next round by crashing Joe Meara and Xiao Guodong 4-0 and hammering the PTC 3 winner, Ben Woollaston 4-1.

Below you can check Day 3 list of results:

From 9am
6. David Gilbert 4-1 Mike Hallett
7. Sam Craigie 4-1 Cao Yupeng
8. James Wattana 2-4 Ian Burns
17. Joe Perry 4-0 Kishan Hirani
18. Stephen Maguire 2-4 Peter Ebdon
19. Mike Dunn 3-4 Gerard Greene
20. Ricky Walden 4-0 Duane Jones

Not before 11am
5. Ding Junhui 4-3 David Gray
9. Passakorn Suwannawat 4-3 Paul Davison
10. Robbie Williams w/o Lucky Vatnani
11. Jamie Cope 0-4 Antony Parsons
12. Jamie Burnett 4-1 Martin O'Donnell
13. Mark Joyce 1-4 Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon
14. Gary Wilson 3-4 Shaun Murphy
15. Simon Bedford 4-3  Barry Pinches
16. Stephen Hendry 3-4 Anthony Hamilton

Not before 1pm
1. Ronnie O'Sullivan 4-1  Mark Williams
2. Peter Lines 4-1 Sam Harvey
3. Andy Hicks 2-4  Jack Lisowski
4. Mark Davis 0-4 Andrew Norman
29. Xiao Guodong 4-1 Rob James
30. Andrew Higginson 4-0 Joe Meara
31. Ben Woollaston 4-0 Patrick Wallace
32. Yu Delu 2-4 Liu Song

Not before 3pm
21. Graeme Dott 4-0 Stephen Craigie
22. Joe Jogia w/o Robin Hull
23. Dave Harold 4-3 Chris Norbury
24. Stephen Lee 4-1 Adam Wicheard
25. Marcus Campbell 1-4 Ian McCulloch
26. Nigel Bond 4-0  Les Dodd
27. Tom Ford 4-2 David Hogan
28. Jimmy Robertson 4-2 Jak Jones

Not before 5pm
65. Ronnie O’Sullivan 2-4 Peter Lines
66. Jack Lisowski 4-3 Andrew Norman
67. Ding Junhui 3-4 David Gilbert
68. Sam Craigie 1-4 Ian Burns
69. Passakorn Suwannawat 3-4 Robbie Williams
70. Antony Parsons 0-4 Jamie Burnett
73. Joe Perry 4-0 Peter Ebdon
74. Gerard Greene 1-4 Ricky Walden

Not before 7pm
71. Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon 3-4 Shaun Murphy
72. Simon Bedford 0-4 Anthony Hamilton
75. Graeme Dott 4-3 Joe Jogia
76. Dave Harold 4-3 Stephen Lee
77. Ian McCulloch 4-1 Nigel Bond
78. Tom Ford 4-3 Jimmy Robertson
79. Xiao Guodong 0-4 Andrew Higginson
80. Ben Woollaston 4-0 Liu Song

Not before 9pm
97. Peter Lines 3-4 Jack Lisowski
98. David Gilbert 4-1 Ian Burns
99. Robbie Williams 2-4 Jamie Burnett
100. Joe Perry 4-3 Ricky Walden
101. Shaun Murphy 2-4 Anthony Hamilton
102. Graeme Dott 0-4 Dave Harold
103. Ian McCulloch 4-2 Tom Ford
104. Andrew Higginson 4-1 Ben Woollaston

Today’s match schedule:

From 9am
33. Judd Trump .v Marco Fu
34. Mark King v. Adrian Gunnell
35. Tony Drago v. Liu Chuang
36. Li Yan v. Kacper Filipiak
45. Mark Allen v. Tian Pengfei
46. Rory McLeod v. Rod Lawler
47. Matthew Stevens v. Kyren Wilson
48. Ryan Day v. Kurt Maflin

Not before 11am
37. Craig Steadman v. Scott MacKenzie
38. Dominic Dale v. Joe Swail
39. Ali Carter v. Aditya Mehta
40. Neil Robertson v. Eden Sharav
49. Michael White v. John Sutton
50. Anthony McGill v. James McGouran
51. Dechewat Poomjaeng v. Daniel Wells
52. Sam Baird v. Zhang Anda

Not before 1pm
41. John Higgins v. David Grace
42. Ken Doherty v. Michael Wasley
43. Liam Highfield v. Mitchell Travis
44. Alan McManus v. Alfie Burden
57. Jimmy White v. Andrew Pagett
58. Jamie Jones v. Matthew Couch
59. Luca Brecel v. Mitchell Mann
60. Martin Gould v. Ashley Wright

Not before 3pm
53. Fergal O'Brien v. Allan Taylor
54. Stuart Bingham v. Stuart Carrington
55. Barry Hawkins v. Douglas Hogan
56. Matthew Selt v. Liang Wenbo
61. Steve Davis v. Sean O'Sullivan
62. Adam Duffy v. David Morris
63. Michael Holt v. Christopher Keogan
64. Mark Selby v. Rob Milkins

Not before 5pm
81. Winner of match 33 v. Winner of match 34
82. Winner of match 35 v. Winner of match 36
83. Winner of match 37 v. Winner of match 38
84. Winner of match 39 v. Winner of match 40
85. Winner of match 41 v. Winner of match 42
86. Winner of match 43 v. Winner of match 44
87. Winner of match 45 v. Winner of match 46
88. Winner of match 47 v. Winner of match 48

Not before 7pm
89. Winner of match 49 v. Winner of match 50
90. Winner of match 51 v. Winner of match 52
91. Winner of match 53 v. Winner of match 54
92. Winner of match 55 v. Winner of match 56
93. Winner of match 57 v. Winner of match 58
94. Winner of match 59 v. Winner of match 60
95. Winner of match 61 v. Winner of match 62
96. Winner of match 63 v. Winner of match 64

Not before 9pm
105. Winner of match 81 v. Winner of match 82
106. Winner of match 83 v. Winner of match 84
107. Winner of match 85 v. Winner of match 86
108. Winner of match 87 v. Winner of match 88
109. Winner of match 89 v. Winner of match 90
110. Winner of match 91 v. Winner of match 92
111. Winner of match 93 v. Winner of match 94
112. Winner of match 95 v. Winner of match 96
*all hours are UK time

Each session will see two matches being broadcasted online, so plese visit the following links to watch the snooker: