Players Tour Championship Event 10 (2011) - Holt wins PTC 10

23:24:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

Michael Holt, the 2011 PTC 10 champion
Michael Holt has won his first ranking event this season by beating Dominic Dale 4-2 and taking the PTC 10 crown. Holt is no stranger from winning these types of events, last season, the player from Nottingham grabbing EPTC 6 title after beating John Higgins 4-3 in the final.

Michael started his PTC 10 journey by kneeling down the Indian Aditya Mehta 4-0, hammering Ian McCulloch 4-1 and ending on a close 4-3 the match against world number one, Mark Selby. Hence, a place in the Last 16 round.
The last day of the competition began with a 4-1 victory over PTC 3 champion, Ben Woollaston, followed by a very determined 4-0 against Jamie Cope, only to see the lad taking down his last year EPTC 6 opponent, John Higgins, by 4-2 in the semis.

Dominic Dale - the 2011 PTC 10 runner-up
The final saw Holty facing Dominic Dale, a player that had also won a PTC event last season (PTC 6).

By firing in breaks of 75, 46 and 58 Holt took the first two frames of the match, after that the rhythm of the cues' battle dropping a bit. 
 Scrappiness took over, although this didn't mean the next frame wasn't a good one, Dominic using a top break of 44 to "put it in his pocket".

The Welshman had a pretty good chance to win the forth frame, but sadly he left the last yellow on after a bad safety shot, Holt coming to the table and turning the scoreline into 3-1. Still, Dale didn't give up and why would he? He had a very good run until then and he was determined to continue it. 
Holty saluting the nonexisting crowd from Sheffield

Runs of 27 and 37 helped the "Spaceman" Dale to pull one back, but unfortunately for him, Holt was stronger and with a series of 29 and 44 he cashed the very next frame to win the match and the tournament 4-2.

The PTC 10 event precedes the second most important tournament from the snooker calendar, the UK Championship (3-11 of December), so the players that shinned during this event will hopefully keep on doing so in York.

Below you can check last day list of results:

The Last 16: 
154 Neil Robertson 3-4 John Higgins
155 Rory McLeod 1-4 Joe Perry
156 Chris Norbury 3-4 Jamie Cope
157 Ben Woollaston 1-4 Michael Holt
158 Dave Harold 4-2 David Grace
159 Graeme Dott 3-4 Stephen Lee
160 Ricky Walden 2-4 Dominic Dale
161 Liang Wenbo 4-3 Ken Doherty

The quarter-finals:
Not before 1pm
162 John Higgins 4-3 Joe Perry
163 Jamie Cope 0-4 Michael Holt
164 Dave Harold 1-4 Stephen Lee
165 Dominic Dale 4-3 Liang Wenbo

The semi-finals:
Not before 4pm
166 John Higgins 2-4 Michael Holt
167 Stephen Lee 2-4 Dominic Dale

The final:
Not before 7pm
168 Michael Holt 4-2 Dominic Dale