Welsh Open 2012 (the qualifiers) - Day 2

02:39:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

Lucky Vatnani back in action
The second day of the Welsh Open qualifiers brought to our attention one-very-eager-to-make-up-for-his-visa-problems, the Indian player Lucky Vantnani completing another match and winning it, as well as the Chinese players Cao Yupeng and Xiao Guodong.

He had visa problems in the past and so missed a lot of PTC events but now he's back. After seeing off Sam Craigie the other day, India's Lucky Vatnani obtained yet another victory, this time in front of Barry Pinches, whom he hammered 4-1.

So after these two wonderful victories, faith has put him to face Steve Davis in Round Three. Will the little Indian player make it?

Cao Yupeng continued his good run with a 4-2 victory over Adrian Gunnell, his fellow-country Liu Chuang beat Liam Highfield by 4-3, while Xiao Guodong defeated Irishman David Morris by 4-2.

However, it was not bed-of-roses for all the Chinese competitions, Liu Song losing the decider against Adam Wicheard, while brave Yu Delu (the one who beat Ding Junhui a week ago in Berlin) lost in front of Scotland's Anthony McGill 4-2.

Young Sam Baird took care of another Chinese "threat", Li Yan being kneeled down with a 4-1 scoreline, Kurt Maflin sent home the legend Tony Drago after applying a merciless 4-2 treatment, while the restless Dave Harold crashed a very powerful opponent, Joe Swail by 4-0.

Below you have Day 2 list of results:

11 Ben Woollaston 1-4 David Gilbert
12 Adrian Gunnell 2-4 Cao Yupeng
13 Jimmy Robertson 2-4 Alfie Burden
14 Michael White 1-4 Ian McCulloch
15 Mark Joyce 4-3 Daniel Wells
16 Barry Pinches 1-4 Lucky Vatnani

17 Peter Lines 2-4 Rod Lawler
18 Tony Drago 2-4 Kurt Maflin
19 Andy Hicks 4-2 Andrew Norman
20 Liu Chuang 4-3 Liam Highfield
21 Dave Harold 4-0 Joe Swail

22 Xiao Guodong 4-2 David Morris
23 Liu Song 3-4 Adam Wicheard
24 Anthony McGill 4-2 Yu Delu 
25 James Wattana 0-4 Adam Duffy
26 Li Yan 1-4 Sam Baird

Day Three match schedule:

27 Liang Wenbo v. David Gilbert
28 Jamie Burnett v. Cao Yupeng
29 Michael Holt v. Alfie Burden
30 Jimmy White v. Ian McCulloch
31 Joe Jogia v. Mark Joyce
32 Steve Davis v. Lucky Vatnani

33 Ken Doherty v. Winner of match 17
34 Rob Milkins v. Kurt Maflin
35 Anthony Hamilton v. Andy Hicks
36 Matthew Selt v. Liu Chuang
37 Alan McManus v. Dave Harold

38 Mike Dunn v. Xiao guodong
39 Jamie Jones v. Adam Wicheard
40 Gerard Greene v. Anthony McGill
41 Jack Lisowski v. Adam Duffy
42 Nigel Bond v. Sam Baird

*all hours are UK time

Each session has two matches broadcasted LIVE on the internet. You can see the lads in action at www.sportlemon.tv