The 2012 Premier League of Snooker

01:10:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

It's that time of the year when after a busy season and a well deserved break we start looking forward at what's coming our way ... snooker related of course. 

So, leaving aside the race for ranking points and all the travelling outside the UK’s borders to take part on events, we turn our eyes to a non-ranking, not-very-interesting-event in some people's opinion, caravan-of-snooker-like Premier League competition.

This year the Premier League of snooker, sponsored as always by and carefully covered by the Sky Channel in front with Mr Fluffy-Hair Andy Goldstein, looks a bit different, as we shall have ten players placed in two groups of five.

The good thing is that the organisers decided to go back to the round-robin system, so the five players in each group will play each other once with the top two in each group going forward to the semi-finals.

We also have the "six-frames" re-installed, which means that the matches could very easily finish on a draw, the players getting two points for victory and one for equality.

The Premier League evenings will be in number of ten, at the end of them the best four ranked players going to perform in the play-offs; for the semis they' ll play under "the best of nine" frames rule and for the final under "the best of 13".

For every frame won the player gets a total amount of £1,000, while the big winner will go home with a prize money of £50,000.

So, that being said, let's see who are the 10 lucky players that will delight the entire United Kingdom with their snooker skills starting from August 16.

Shanghai Masters Champion: Mark Selby (World Ranked #1)
UK Champion: Judd Trump (#2)
Wild Card: John Higgins (#5)
Brazil Masters Champion: Shaun Murphy (#6)
Masters Champion: Neil Robertson (#7)
PTC Grand Final Champion: Stephen Lee (#8)
Championship League Winner: Ding Junhui (#11)
Haikou World Open Champion: Mark Allen (#12)
Australian Goldfields Open Champion: Stuart Bingham (#16)
China Open Champion: Peter Ebdon (#20)

If you are thinking where is the current PL champion, Ronnie O'Sullivan, I remind you that due to the fact that he's not signed the contract for the new season yet, stating that he's currently on a break, he's been replaced with the wild-card John Higgins.