Australian Open 2012 (the qualifiers) - Day 1

10:12:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

Double T flies in second round
Yesterday, at Sheffield, the cue-crossings restarted with the Australian Open qualifying rounds taking place for the next four days. 16 players will get to see their Australian dream turned into reality at the end of it and will travel to Bendigo between 9 and 15 of July.

An excellent start for the "Thai gang" in their quest for a plane ticket to Bendigo's Australia, the first day of the qualifying rounds seeing both Thepchaiya Un-Nooh and Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon recording victories, the first named one against Allan "The Assasin" Taylor, whom he merciless crushed 5-0, white "Double T" hammered Adrian Gunnell 5-1.

Also taking a pretty awesome start were Sam Baird who beat Jamie O'Neill 5-0 and Michael Wild who obtained the same result by taking on another Q School graduate, Daniel Wells.

Returning to the Asian players, Aditya Mehta and Pankaj Advani get their second round ticket after Aditya beat Lee Spick 5-2 and Pankaj won 5-1 over Justin Astley.

Late in the night, Rod Lawler just managed to squeeze  pass Belgium's prodigy Luca Brecel and secure his place in the next round with a 5-4 result.

Below you can check Day One complete list of results:

1) Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 5-0 Allan Taylor
2) Hossein Vafaei Ayouri v Mitchell Mann w/o
3) Ben Judge 0-5 Robbie Williams
4) Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon 5-1 Adrian Gunnell
5) Daniel Wells 0-5 Michael Wild
6) Cao Yupeng 5-2 Paul Davison

7) Sam Baird 5-0 Jamie O'Neill
8) Chen Zhe 1-5 Michael Wasley
9) Tian Pengfei 5-1 Joel Walker
10) Zhang Anda 3-5 Fraser Patrick
11) Ian Burns 5-2 Sean O'Sullivan

12) Michael Leslie 2-5 Duane Jones
13) Aditya Mehta 5-2 Lee Spick
14) Pankaj Advani 5-1 Justin Astley
15) Luca Brecel 4-5 Rod Lawler
16) Martin O'Donnell 5-2 Jeff Cundy

The battle of cues continues today with:

Round 2

17) Adam Duffy v Thepchaiya Un-Nooh
18) Passakorn Suwannawat v Mitchell Mann
19) Kurt Maflin v Robbie Williams
20) Craig Steadman v Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon
21) Simon Bedford v Michael Wild
22) Alfie Burden v Cao Yupeng

23) Andy Hicks v Sam Baird
24) Yu De Lu v Michael Wasley
25) Dechawat Poomjaeng v Tian Pengfei
26) James Wattana v Fraser Patrick
27) Liam Highfield v Ian Burns

28) Tony Drago v Duane Jones
29) Barry Pinches v Aditya Mehta
30) Li Yan v Pankaj Advani
31) Mark Joyce v Rod Lawler
32) David Grace v Martin O'Donnell
* all hours are UK time