Wuxi Classic 2012 (the qualifiers) - Day 3

10:19:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

Whirlwind out
We've kind of got used to see the 'Chinese gang' doing well during the qualifying rounds, but by looking at yesterday's scorelines things change ... and they change a lot.

Xiao Guodong, Liang Wenbo, Li Yan and Liu Chuang have all lost their chance to return to mother China as Wuxi Classic active participants, at the same time the Pink Army members continuing their strategic assault.

Jimmy Robertson managed to see out the "007 Agent" of snooker Nigel Bond in quite some trouble and beat him by 5-3, Michael White hammered Xiao Guodong 5-1, while Robert Milkins took a great start and obtained a hard fought 5-4 victory over Liu Chuang.

For the legends though, things didn't go as planned, both Jimmy White and Steve Davis failing to start this season with the right foot. "The Whirlwind" was not even left to blow his mighty cue action over the green baize, India's Aditya Mehta taking care of that with a 5-1 scoreline, while Kurt Maflin denied "The Nugget's" Chinese dream to happen by beating him 5-3.

Good start for young Lisowski
End of run for the "dream wildcards team", both Tony Drago and Luca Brecel missing their plane to Wuxi, after Jamie Burnett beat Brecel 5-4, while Drago was defeated 5-1 by one-very-back-to-form Jack Lisowski.

Barry Pinches continued his very impressive run with a 5-2 victory over Scotland's Alan McManus, at the same time, good old Dave Harold taking quite a good start and beating Alfie Burden 5-4.

Below you can find Day Three complete list of results:

33) Nigel Bond 3-5 Jimmy Robertson
34) Jimmy White 1-5 Aditya Mehta
35) Matthew Selt 5-3 Simon Bedford
36) Jack Lisowski 5-1 Tony Drago
37) Jamie Burnett 5-4 Luca Brecel
38) Rory McLeod 5-3 Mark Joyce

39) Xiao Guodong 1-5 Michael White
40) Liang Wenbo 3-5 Rod Lawler
41) Alan McManus 2-5 Barry Pinches
42) Dave Harold 5-4 Alfie Burden
43) Gerard Greene 5-1 Li Yan

44) Anthony McGill 4-5 David Gilbert
45) Ben Woollaston 1-5 Passakorn Suwannawat
46) Steve Davis 3-5 Kurt Maflin
47) Robert Milkins 5-4 Liu Chuang
48) Mike Dunn 1-5 Peter Lines

Today the final battle begins with:

Round 4
49) Barry Hawkins v Jimmy Robertson
50) Jamie Cope v Aditya Mehta
51) Peter Ebdon v Matthew Selt
52) Ken Doherty v Jack Lisowski
53) Marco Fu v Jamie Burnett
54) Mark Davis v Rory McLeod

55) Anthony Hamilton v Michael White
56) Jamie Jones v Rod Lawler
57) Tom Ford v Barry Pinches
58) Mark King v Dave Harold
59) Fergal O'Brien v Gerard Greene

60) Marcus Campbell v David Gilbert
61) Joe Perry v Passakorn Suwannawat
62) Michael Holt v Kurt Maflin
63) Ryan Day v Robert Milkins
64) Dominic Dale v Peter Lines
* all hours are UK time