A Rocket's year: O'Sullivan gets Player of the Year Award

22:34:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments

Rocket of the Year
Ronnie O'Sullivan got named Player of the Year at the annual sports ceremony that took place at Lancaster Hotel from London, on May 8th.

So he didn't win the World Championship for the 6th time, but the people haven't forgotten him and the fans either. And after winning the 2013 Paul Hunter Classic, the 2014 Masters, the 2014 Welsh Open and the 2014 Champion of Champions tournament to which he added another splendid 147 to increase his collection to a total of 12 maximum breaks, it was only normal to see him crowned Player of the Year.

Ronnie also got named the Fans Player of the Year, this proving once more, that no matter how twisted his moods are, the people love their champion and will always relate to both his demons and amazing victories.

100 century breaks and a well-deserved award for Robbo
This year's semi-finalist, Neil Robertson got full recognition for his perfect collection of making 100 century breaks during the 2013/2014 season, while the reigning world champion, the man that stopped Ronnie from winning his 6th world crown, the man of the moment, Mark Selby got awarded with two titles: Performance of the Year (for his victory against the Rocket) and Magic Moment of the Year (for his 147 during the 2013 UK Championship, which was the 100th maximum break in snooker history).

The full list of awards and their winners:

The Nugget handing the trophy to Mark Selby

World Snooker Player of the Year: Ronnie O'Sullivan

Snooker Writers Player of the Year: Ding Junhui

Fans Player of the Year: Ronnie O'Sullivan

Rookie of the Year: John Astley

Performance of the Year: Mark Selby

Magic Moment of the Year: Mark Selby

Special award for 100 Centuries: Neil Robertson

147 Club (players making a 147 during the season): Neil Robertson, Judd Trump, Mark Selby, Dechawat Poomjaeng, Gary Wilson, Shaun Murphy, Ronnie O'Sullivan