PRESS RELEASE: Stephen Hendry to play again & go in search of another world title

10:20:00 Ramona Dragomir 0 Comments



Open to any player not currently on tour aged over 40 on Jan 1st 2017

Winner to receive £10,000 plus a place in the 2017 BetFred World Professional Snooker Championships.

It’s never too late to dream, win a qualifier and you could be just 7 matches from facing Ronnie O’Sullivan or Mark Selby in the Crucible Theatre.

This is Snookers equivalent to the Road to Wembley and the ‘King of the Crucible’ is back to give it another go.

4 Qualifiers will take place in Feb / March 2017:

17-19 Feb – The Crucible Sports and Social Club, Newbury (Southern venue)
22-25th Feb The Northern Snooker centre Leeds (Northern venue)
3-5 March – Ballroom Nuremberg Germany (European Venue)
10-12th March – D’Arcy McGees at Spawell, Dublin (Irish Venue)

Each winner takes their place alongside 8 invited legends in the World Seniors Championship at Baths Hall in Scunthorpe from 21-25th March.


1. Stephen Hendry MBE(Sco)
2. Cliff Thorburn CA (Canada)
3. John Parrott MBE (Eng)
4. Dennis Taylor (N.Ire)
5. Joe Johnson (Eng)
6. Patsy Fagan (IRE)
7. Tony Knowles (Eng)
8. Willie Thorne (Eng)

Entries for the Qualifiers open Monday 23rd Jan. Details on

We are delighted to announce the Heritage Room, last displayed in 2005, will be at our event for all four days. There is no greater collection around the history of snooker in attendance.
Further Information

1. How the seedings were chosen

Qualifying players ranked in order of:

1) Most world titles won
2) Most triple crown events won
3) Most ranking events won
4) Most total professional tournaments won (ranking or invitational)
5) Highest world ranking

All UK Championship titles are to be classed as full ranking event wins, including those during its period as a non-ranking event (1977-1983):

Invited Legends who declined participation in this event were Steve Davis, Ray Reardon, Terry Griffiths, Tony Meo & Doug Mountjoy

2. Format of the event

All matches in qualifiers and up to the final in Scunthorpe will be best of 5 but if the match is 2-2 then the final frame is decided by a single black ball respot. The World Seniors Final will be best of 7 with a black ball to decide it if the match goes 3-3.

In the Final Stages in Scunthorpe a 30 second shot clock will be introduced with a player having two time outs in the match.

All matches will be played under standard WPBSA rules.

All venues can cater for disabled and wheelchair players and we welcome their participation.

3.  AOB

The World Seniors Championships is being promoted and produced by Jason Francis at Snooker Legends in partnership with Stephen Hendry MBE. It is only open to Amateur players, no player currently holding a professional tour card is eligible to enter.

The Baths Hall is owned by North Lincolnshire Council and managed, on their behalf, by SMG Europe. Opened in November 2011 the venue's flexibility is its strength. With retractable seating, The Baths Hall can cater for 1,024 guests when in all seated mode or 1,800 with a standing floor and seated balcony. Situated in Scunthorpe, just five minutes from the M180 and 20 minutes from the M18, The Baths Hall is the region’s newest and most exciting venue and perfect for hosting conferences and events.

A Launch Dinner will be held at the venue on March 21st – tickets will be available to buy to enjoy a great night with the legends.

1000 tickets are being put aside to use in the community to bring in school children, disabled groups and care homes from the local area.
A Golf Day will be held at local Forest Pines Course on March 21st. Our partners can enjoy a four ball with a legend. The course meanders through majestic pines, offering over 6000 yards of beautiful, scenery, and challenging holes.

Ranking list, provide by WPBSA, excluding players who declined an invitation were:

1. Stephen Hendry - 7 world titles, 18 triple crown events
2. Cliff Thorburn - 1 world title, 4 triple crown events
3. John Parrott - 1 world title, 2 triple crown events, 9 ranking events
4. Dennis Taylor - 1 world title, 2 triple crown events, 2 ranking events
5. Joe Johnson - 1 world title, 1 triple crown events
6. Patsy Fagan - 0 world titles, 1 triple crown events
7. Tony Knowles - 0 world titles, 0 triple crown events, 2 ranking events
8. Willie Thorne - 0 world titles, 0 triple crown events, 1 ranking event, 6 professional events

For all media and press enquiries please contact